--- title: "Edit Menu" url: "https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/5745.html" section_path: "Object Manager > Edit Menu" description: "Use these common commands to copy or cut objects to the clipboard and paste them into the same or a different scene." --- # Edit Menu Undo, Redo See [Edit Menu](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/5598.html.md) Cut Copy Paste Use these common commands to copy or cut objects to the clipboard and paste them into the same or a different scene. Delete Deletes the selected object(s). Select All All objects will be selected. Select Visible Selects all objects that are currently visible in the **Object Manager**. Objects on hidden layers or hidden by the filter are ignored. > **Tip:** Select All / Deselect All refers to all items in the scene, including items on hidden layers … Select Children Adds the children of the selected object(s) to the selection. Elements of any existing branches will be selected. If, for example, you select the **Object Manager** view [Vertical Tags](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/11071.html.md), the tags will also be selected when this command is executed. Invert Selection Inverts the current selection. Items that were selected become deselected and vice-versa. Deselect All Deselects all objects or elements. Add To Layer Opens a sub-menu containing a list of all layers present in the scene including their colors. Choose a layer from the list to put the selected objects onto the layer. Add to New Layer Creates a new layer and assigns the selected objects to that layer. Remove from Layer Removes the selected items from any layers. The following commands are available for objects as well as tags. Take Assignment Here you will fine a list of all available [Takes](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/54507.html.md). Select a Take (or multiple Takes) to make all settings overridable for the selected items. This is the same effect as if you were to drag and drop objects or tags into the **Take Manager**. Remove from Current Take All overridden settings will be deleted (and the object or tag will be deleted completely from the current Take in the override tree). Remove from All Takes All overridden settings will be deleted (and the object or tag will be deleted completely from all Takes in the override tree). Take Manager Opens the **Take Manager**.