---
title: "Filter"
url: "https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/DBASEDRAW-BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_GROUP_FILTER.html"
section_path: "The UV Editor and Its Tools - An Introduction > View Menu > Configure Dialog > Filter"
element_id: "DBASEDRAW"
group_id: "BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_GROUP_FILTER"
description: "The settings in this group can be used to activate or hide different elements in the UV Editor. Again many of these options should already be familiar …"
---

## Filter

The settings in this group can be used to activate or hide different elements in the *UV Editor*. Again many of these options should already be familiar from similar options offered in the Filter menu of the viewports.

### UV Grid

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_UVGRID`

### Subdivisions U

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_UVGRID_SUBDIVSU` · Range: [1..2147483647]

### Subdivisions V

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_UVGRID_SUBDIVSV` · Range: [1..2147483647]

### Show Sub-Grid

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_UVGRID_SHOWSUBGRID`

Enabling **UV Grid** displays vertical and horizontal lines that divide the width and height of the UV tiles into equal sections. The number of these divisions can be set independently for the horizontal direction using **Subdivision U** and for the vertical direction using **Subdivision V**. The default setting of 10 therefore divides each UV tile into squares measuring 0.1 units (10 \* 0.1 = 1.0).\
If **Show Sub-Grid** is also enabled, additional lines become visible as you zoom into the UV tile. The effect is therefore identical to the dynamic *Grid Spacing* in the viewports, except that here UV units—rather than distance units—are being subdivided.\
Regardless of the settings for **Subdivisions U** and **Subdivisions V**, the currently visible *Grid Spacing* is also displayed as a HUD element in the lower-right corner of the *UV Editor*. To calculate this value, the system always assumes an even division into 10 sections between the outer boundaries of a UV tile, or—when zooming in—between these divisions as well.\
The visibility of these grid lines, combined with the displayed *Grid Spacing* value, is particularly helpful when working on UV elements in the zoomed-in *UV Editor*, as it helps you maintain a sense of scale.

### UV Axis

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_UVAXIS`

### HUD

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_HUD`

Some information is also displayed directly within the *UV Editor*, such as the current *Grid Spacing* value. Additional info can be added to the HUD by activating the options found in the *HUD* tab of this *Configure* dialog. If you prefer not to have text overlays within the *UV Editor*, turn this option off.

### UV Tile Corner Units

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_UNITS`

UV tiles are defined by specified coordinates. The standard tile always lies between the values 0.0 and 1.1 (0 to 1 horizontally, i.e., in the U direction, and 0 to 1 vertically, i.e., in the V direction). However, by using [**UDIM**](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/UDIM%2Band%2BUVTILE.html.md), additional tiles that lie outside this standard tile can also be used. The UV tile adjacent below, for example, contains the UV values 0 to 1 in the U direction and -1 to 0 in the V direction. To make it easier to identify the different UV tiles and their UV values, this option allows you to display the corresponding UV coordinates at the corner points of the tiles.

![Image: UV_Editor_Display_11.png](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/Resources/Images/UV_Editor_Display_11.png)\
The UV Editor grid with and without displayed UV Corner Units.

### UDIM Tiles

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_UDIMTILES`

Using a specific naming convention for the textures loaded into materials (see the explanation on [using UDIMs](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/UDIM%2Band%2BUVTILE.html.md) here) allows you to map textures to specific UV tiles. Within the *UV Editor*, using UDIMs means that even a texture marked as tiled (see the **Tiled Texture** option) is only displayed within the default UV tile. Only when **UDIM Tiles** are disabled can the tiling of the loaded texture be transferred to adjacent UV tiles. However, this option has no effect on the actual rendering of assigned materials.

![Image: UV_Editor_Display_12.png](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/Resources/Images/UV_Editor_Display_12.png)\
On the left is a view of a tiled texture with the UDIM Tiles option turned off; on the right, the option is turned on.

### Tiled Texture

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_TILING`

### TIle U

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_TILING_TILEU`

### Tile V

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_TILING_TILEV`

If **UDIM Tiles** is disabled, a loaded texture can also be displayed a tiled, starting from the 0..1 default tile. The separate **Tile U** and **Tile V** options allow you to control the texture's repetition independently in the U and V directions.

![Image: UV_Editor_Display_13.png](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/Resources/Images/UV_Editor_Display_13.png)\
On the left is the effect of **Tile U**, and on the right is the effect of **Tile V**.

### Axis

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_OBJECTHANDLES`

Whenever UV elements are selected, an additional axis system is displayed for them. This *Modeling Axis* can be used, for example, in conjunction with the [Move](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/TOOLMOVE.html.md) tool to offset the elements horizontally or vertically. In addition, these transformation tools also offer settings for this [Modeling Axis](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/TOOLMOVE-MDATA_AXIS_GROUP.html.md), for example, to move it within the selection. This then allows, for example, the rotation of selected elements around a rotation point that may also lie outside the selection. The *Modeling Axis* is only displayed in the *UV Editor* when **Axis** is active.

### Handles

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_HANDLES`

Some tools provide handles for interactive use. This option can also be used to hide these visual handles.

### N-gon Lines

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_NGONLINES`

Internally, N-gons are also formed from triangles and quadrilaterals. When this option is enabled, the edges of these internal polygons are also visible within the N-gons.

### Component Highlighting

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_FILTER_HIGHLIGHTING`

Elements that can be selected (points, edges, polygons) will be highlighted when the cursor is placed over them.

### UV Polygon Indexes

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_SHOW_POLYGON_INDICES`

### UV Point Indexes

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_SHOW_VERTEX_INDICES`

**UV Polygon Indexes** corresponds to the **Polygon Indexes** option in the Options menu of the standard viewports and can display the index IDs of the selected polygons directly in the editor. This can be helpful in conjunction with [Scene Nodes](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/html/Introduction_Scene_Nodes.html.md), which also allow you to select polygons based on this number, for example. Similarly, all points in the geometry are identified by unique numbers (also see **Point Indexes** option for the viewports), which can also be displayed using the **UV Point Indexes** option.

![Image: UV_Editor_Display_14.png](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/Resources/Images/UV_Editor_Display_14.png)\
Each polygon is identified internally by a unique ID, which can also be viewed directly in the UV Editor for selected polygons (see left side). Similarly, all points in the geometry are identified by unique numbers, which can also be displayed (see the right side of the figure).

### Toggle NGon/Polygon Indexes

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_SHOW_NGON_INDICES`

This option toggles the display of polygon indexes between the indexes of the faces contained in the n-gon and the ID of the entire n-gon face. **UV Polygon Indexes** has to be active at the same time.

![Image: UV_Editor_Display_15.png](https://help.maxon.net/c4d/en-us/Content/Resources/Images/UV_Editor_Display_15.png)\
On the left are the IDs of the individual polygons that make up an N-gon; on the right is the ID of the entire N-gon. The option for **N-gon Lines** has been enabled here for clarity.

### Ignore hidden Polygon Selection

Parameter ID: `BASEDRAW_UVEDITOR_IGNORE_HIDDEN_POLYGON_SELECTION`

Using Select>*Hide Selected* a current selection of polygons can be hidden from the viewport display. Activating **Ignore hidden Polygon Selection** will still show these polygons in the *UV Editor*. However, it is no longer possible to select these polygons individually as long as they remain hidden.
