In this menu, you will find commands that enable you to customize the workspace.
Several of the commands below are already described here.
Use this command to load a previously saved layout.
Saves the current working environment as the startup layout. When you next start Cinema 4D, this is the layout that will be used. The startup file is saved in Cinema 4D’s Prefs folder under the name template.l4d.
This command lets you save the current layout. You can create as many layouts as you wish, such as one for modeling and one for texturing. Layout files take the file extension .l4d.
Here you will find a list of all layouts in Cinema 4D’s Library/Layout location. To load one of these layouts, choose its name from the list.
At the bottom of the Layouts sub-menu, you will find a list of default main menus. To choose a menu, select its name from the list. You can specify a different main menu for each layout. You can also define custom main menus (User Menu X) using the Menu manager.
If enabled, you will no longer be able to modify the current layout. This option puts security measures in place to prevent the layout from inadvertently being modified.
The defined option will be saved in the Cinema 4D.prf (internal prefs folder) file.
Use this command if you want to save the current scene as the scene that should automatically be used when an empty scene is created. The file will be saved as new.c4d in the default directory. Render settings will also be saved to this file so that, for example, a specific frame rate can be defined or a specific lighting setup can be defined for all new scenes.